Home > FOOD FOR THE SOUL, HEALTH & FITNESS, LOVE, SOCIOLOGY > Your Body Is your Temple

Your Body Is your Temple

Image Credit: http://www.Glamour.com

Yesterday I read something that I would like to share with you:

“You are one special being born from the joining of one sperm out of approximately 500 million and one egg. You are already a winner, a divine being comprised of a body, mind and spirit. You already have everything you need to  live to your highest potential, to live fully.”

It starts with taking care of yourself. Cherish, Love, and respect your temple unconditionally no matter what the current shape. ” – Susan Smith Jones, PH.D.

I loved reading this, it couldn’t have read this at a better time. You see I have been stressing these past weeks with self image. I tend to be very harsh on myself, criticizing every small flaw or imperfection; I have since I was a kid. I should tell you I was a chunky kid, so of course I was teased a lot back then and that has carried all the way through my adult life. Though I have gotten better, there are times more often then I’d like, when I fall back into old habits of staring at myself in the mirror or going through pictures thinking of everything negative there is about me.

Reading this made me realize that I need to STOP. We are all guilty of doing this to ourselves at some point, but why?  Our body does such wonderful things for us on a daily basis, it really  is our “temple” and it will respond to the care, love and respect we give it regardless of the flaws it may have.  Last year that I began being active I saw that this is true. My body responded in such wonderful ways, I had more energy, I didn’t get sick as often, I lost weight, my clothes fit great! And yet this old habit of mine still haunts me.

As I finished reading that small piece of wisdom, (because truly that is what it is) I decided that I will make the necessary adjustments to my body to give it the respect and love it deserves. I mean when I thought about all the body does not just on the outside but all our organs inside us, how could we not want to take care of ourselves.  So as of today I am committed to embrace a healthier lifestyle, eat healthy foods, exercise regularly (I like many, tend to fall off the bandwagon often) , but most importantly I will only embrace positive thoughts about my body.

From now on I will visualize my body as my friend not my enemy that won’t fit into my jeans! So next time you are beating yourself up like I was, remember that we only have one body for our lifetime so we should take better care of it and give it all the love it deserves!

-Fabiola

  1. Jeaniqua
    January 19, 2011 at 5:42 am

    Well said Fabi!

  2. Queta Lares
    January 20, 2011 at 1:38 am

    Thank you Fabiola for speaking so candidly about something that most people would rather just avoid. The truth is that our body is only a projection of what we have inside (within) we are all spiritual and loving beings, and the skin over that is only a continuation of our feelings deep within. Acceptance comes then from within, as you said, and the rest is just the consequence of that. Good luck in keeping your promise to your temple, and remember, be kind, starting with yourself!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

