Home > FOOD FOR THE SOUL, HEALTH & FITNESS > CAST AWAY DEPRESSION…

CAST AWAY DEPRESSION…

The other day I was watching the movie “CAST AWAY” and when I saw it for the first time almost 10 years ago, I don’t recall catching the Life Changing message it had at the very end. It brought tears to my eyes, I got to say, I’m a very emotional creature, and I cried because it was a beautiful message, the secret of Happiness presented in that very movie. I believe we all have seen the movie and if you haven’t, you just have to see it. When Chuck Noland (Tom Hanks character) gets back to Memphis after surviving four years all alone in an island he revealed an inner transformation he went through while he was in there alone with his thoughts. Here is how he describes it went:

“I couldn’t even kill myself the way I wanted to. I had power over NOTHING. And that’s when this feeling came over me like a warm blanket. I knew, somehow, that I had to stay alive. Somehow. I had to keep breathing. Even though there was no reason to hope. And all my logic said that I would never see this place again. So that’s what I did. I stayed alive. I kept breathing. And one day my logic was proven all wrong because the tide came in, and gave me a sail. And now, here I am. I’m back. In Memphis, talking to you. I have ice in my glass… And I’ve lost her all over again. I’m so sad that I don’t have Kelly. But I’m so grateful that she was with me on that island. And I know what I have to do NOW. I gotta keep breathing. Because tomorrow the sun will rise. Who knows what the tide could bring?”

I believe one of the main causes of depression is this built up notion that we are to control everything that happens in our lives. Once we realize and accept that we have control over NOTHING and that everything that happens in our life is in sync with the universal order, that’s when that warm blanket he mentions will come to us. Good or bad, all our experiences serve a greater purpose; it is not just about us. Therefore, when we are going through an emotional crisis we have to remember that we got to keep breathing, because tomorrow the sun will rise again, and who knows what the tide could bring…

Once you acknowledge and welcome this LACK OF CONTROL, then life becomes an amazingly interesting journey, full of surprises, ups and downs and we shouldn’t question the nature of that journey, we shall simply enjoy the ride 😉

-Lizbeth

Image Credit: wikipidia.org
  1. November 18, 2010 at 7:16 am

    I love every single inspiring word I have read so far! You have such amazing insight, and I am so thankful that I came across your blog! I just can’t wait to read more!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

